Your allowances and limits
Your data storage is calculated from all the files stored in your Sirv account. The optimized images generated by Sirv do not count towards your storage allowance.
Your current storage is shown on your Usage page. Storage statistics are updated every 60 seconds.
Files in the Trash folder do not count towards your total data storage.
Extra storage allowance
Each Sirv plan has a large additional burstable allowance for 30 days, so you can continue uploading files even after exceeding your actual allowance. This additional allowance is designed to help you continue working as normal without running out of space.
The burstable storage allowance for your plan is shown in GB on the Sirv pricing page.
You will be alerted by email before and after you exceed your normal allowance. You will then have 30 days to either upgrade to the next plan or delete files back to within your storage allowance.
After exceeding your allowance, 4 reminder emails will be sent, advising you to upgrade or delete files. If your account remains over its permitted storage limit for 30 days, it will be frozen. Images will stop being served to your websites and you will be unable to upload new images until you either upgrade your plan or delete sufficient files to return to within your allowance. Learn more about unlocking a frozen account.
Data transfer allowance
Your data transfer allowance is the total size of all the optimized files served to your users in one month. Your current and historic data transfer is shown on your Usage page. The more visitors you have, the higher your data transfer will be. File uploads do not count towards your transfer usage.
All plans have a generous transfer allowance. It is unusual for sites to exceed their allowance, especially as Sirv is so effective at compressing the size of every image served.
It is a soft-limit. If your account exceeds its allowance, your images will continue to be served as usual. The account owner(s) will receive a notification email asking for the account to be upgraded. You do not need to upgrade if you believe it was a one-off traffic spike.
If an account exceeds its data transfer allowance for 2 consecutive months, a series of emails will be sent to the Primary Owner and Owner(s), requiring the account to be upgraded within 14 days. If not, the account will be frozen and no images will be served.
To unfreeze an account, upgrade to the next plan. Learn more about unlocking a frozen account.
There is no fixed limit on the number of image transformations your Sirv account may perform. Sirv is designed for rapid mass-processing of images at huge scale, with an average processing speed of just 0.15 seconds per transformation.
To maintain rapid processing for all accounts, the following allowances apply:
- Images with a file size above 33.55 MB will not be processed.
- Accounts may be throttled if they request an extremely high volume of processing that is inconsistent with their billing plan.
- Paid accounts have processing queue priority over free accounts.
URL length limit
The maximum length of the file path is 4096 characters. This extremely long limit permits you to use long, descriptive file and folder names.
For example, this URL is just 50 characters in length:
File size / dimension limit
Sirv is designed for rapid image processing of commonly sized images. While it can be used for hosting gigapixel images and other very large images, there are limits:
- Images above 33.55 MB will not be processed.
- Images with extreme dimensions will not be processed.
- JPEG images have larger processing allowances than other image types.
A 415 error message will show for any image that exceeds processing limits.
To request a higher processing limit, please send us a message us from your account.
To prevent inefficiences from repeated file upload, file overwrites are limited to 1000 times. After that, the new file won't be served. This limit is for a specific file, regardless of its file name, to protect against persistent uploads of an identical file.
If you need to change a file that has been overwritten 1000 times, delete it, then upload the new file. The 1000 limit will start afresh for the new file.