Users, roles and permissions

On this page

Manage user permissions

Each person requiring access to your Sirv account should be invited from your users page. They should login to Sirv with their chosen email and password and should not share their login with anyone else. Having one login per user is an important way to control access to your account, permitting you to easily remove users or change their permissions in the future.

Screenshot of users with 5 different roles

Sirv uses the concept of roles to control what users can and cannot do within your account (known as RBAC).

Sirv provides 7 pre-defined roles: Primary Owner, Owner, Admin, Editor, Contributor and Viewer. Each role has permission to perform the tasks shown in the table below. Assign each of your users with a role giving them the most appropriate level of control and not more. Choose the most suitable role to protect your images from potentially unwanted operations, such as delete, overwrite, move and rename.

Permission to add or remove a user from an account is held by the Primary Owner, Owners and Admin roles.

The 7 user roles

Primary Owner

The person who creates the account automatically becomes the Primary Owner. They have total control over the account and only they can transfer ownership to another user. Unlike other roles, there can only be one Primary Owner per account.

Owner

Senior managers of your team with responsibility for adding new users, maintaining existing users and billing can be added as owners. Owners have almost full control over the account. An account can have multiple owners.

Admin

Technical administrators have complete control over the files in the account. They can appoint new users and change existing user roles, except Owner roles. They cannot view or manage any billing information. Admins can lock/unlock folders (Enterprise accounts only), making this a powerful role.

Editor

This role gives access to all the day-to-day file management operations (upload, delete, rename, move and copy). Editors are unable to empty the trash, so if files are deleted in error, an Owner or Admin user is able to retrieve them for 30 days. If a folder has been locked, Editors and Contributors cannot delete, rename or overwrite any of its files or subfolders.

Contributor

A limited role, Contributor's can add content to your account - uploading and creating new folders and files. They cannot move, copy, rename or delete any files/folders.

Viewer

A very limited role, Viewer's can only view files and download them.

Billing

Ideal for finance and accounting staff, this role gives complete payment and billing capability, with minimal file capability.

Table of roles and permissions

Primary Owner Owner Admin Editor Contributor Viewer Billing
File management
View files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Download files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Download CSV lists Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create folders Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No No
Upload files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No No
Move files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Copy files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Rename files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Delete files/folders Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Share folders Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Create/manage profiles Yes Yes Yes Yes No No No
Empty trash Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Lock/unlock folders Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Change folder settings Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Connectivity
Web app access Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FTP access Yes Yes Yes No No No No
S3 access Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Account management
View analytics Yes Yes Yes No No No No
View usage statistics Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Enable/Disable CDN Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Configure Digimarc Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Account email alerts Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Change account name Yes Yes No No No No No
Edit account details Yes Yes No No No No No
Transfer account ownership Yes No No No No No No
Close account Yes No No No No No No
User management
Invite new user Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Remove user Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Appoint admins Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Demote admins Yes Yes Yes No No No No
Appoint owners Yes Yes No No No No No
Demote owners Yes Yes No No No No No
Billing
View invoices Yes Yes No No No No Yes
Change billing plan Yes Yes No No No No Yes
Add/Edit payment method Yes Yes No No No No Yes
Add/Edit billing details Yes Yes No No No No Yes
Billing email alerts Yes Yes No No No No Yes
 

Lock folders to protect them

For even greater protection of your files, Enterprise plans permit folders to be locked from any changes. Contact us today to discuss upgrading your account to an Enterprise plan.

If you don't have a Sirv account yet, start your trial now.

Was this article helpful?

Get help from a Sirv expert