Your account allowances
Your data storage is calculated from all the files stored in your Sirv account. The optimized images generated by Sirv do not count towards your storage allowance.
Your current storage is shown on your Usage page. Storage statistics are updated every 60 seconds.
Files in the Trash folder do not count towards your total data storage.
Extra storage allowance
Each Sirv plan has a large additional burstable allowance for 30 days, so you can continue uploading files even after exceeding your actual allowance. This additional allowance is designed to help you continue working as normal without running out of space.
The burstable storage allowance for your plan is shown in GB on the Sirv pricing page.
You will be alerted by email before and after you exceed your normal allowance. You will then have 30 days to either upgrade to the next plan or delete files back to within your storage allowance.
After exceeding your allowance, 4 reminder emails will be sent, advising you to upgrade or delete files. If your account remains over its permitted storage limit for 30 days, it will be frozen. Images will stop being served to your websites and you will be unable to upload new images until you either upgrade your plan or delete sufficient files to return to within your allowance. Learn more about unlocking a frozen account.
Data transfer allowance
Your data transfer allowance is the total size in MB of all files you can serve in 1 month. All the images viewed by all your visitors in the month are calculated and shown on your Usage page. The more visitors you have, the higher your data transfer will be.
All plans have a generous transfer allowance. It is unusual for sites to exceed their allowance, especially as Sirv is so effective at compressing the size of every image served.
It is a soft-limit, so if your account does exceed its allowance, your images will continue to be served as usual. If this happens, the account owner(s) will receive notification by email asking for the account to be upgraded to the next plan. You do not need to upgrade if you believe it was a one-off traffic spike. If an account exceeds its data transfer allowance for 2 months in a row, further email notifications will be sent to the owner(s), requiring the account to be urgently upgraded to the next plan within 14 days or it will be frozen and no images will be served.
There is no fixed limit on the number of image transformations your Sirv account may perform. Sirv is designed for rapid mass-processing of images at huge scale, with an average processing speed of just 0.15 seconds per transformation.
To maintain rapid processing for all accounts, the following allowances apply:
- Images with a file-size above 32MB will not be processed.
- Accounts may be throttled if they request an extremely high volume of processing that is inconsistent with their billing plan.
- Paid accounts have processing queue priority over free accounts.
URL length limit
The maximum length of the file path is 4096 characters. This extremely long limit permits you to use long, descriptive file and folder names.
For example, this URL is just 50 characters in length: